Search

#STILLrunning

#STILLrunning

Date

November 1, 2016

Mountainbike Ride

I was not going to do any exercise today. I am keen to keep it steady and ensure I don’t overdo it- especially in my first week back again.

However, the sun is shining and the day is warm, and well, I just wanted to get out. I had a foam roller session earlier and the thighs are not all that tight, but thought that a mountain bike ride could be just what the doctor ordered (literally!).

It was worth it. It was nice to spin my legs and look around, and it has given me some valuable thinking time.

It does not get much better than this.

Stats

Distance- 8 miles

Average Heart Rate- 120 bpm

Average speed- 9.2 mph

https://www.strava.com/activities/762685513/embed/44d36cfd4aa4f968cde2e79424d68eb0d493d32e

Pacing

I always start off with the best intentions on pacing, but this goes to pot very quickly. I find it very hard to stick to a schedule as there are many things which can throw me off my pace. It could be that the group I am in is running faster/ slower; it could be the adrenaline; or as normal, it is my overconfidence. Either way, this time I am determined not to get it wrong, and am hoping that my maturity will hold me back.

The initial plan is to run just slower than PB pacing. This sounds like a big ask with all that is going on in the background of my medical history, but the standard is not that high! In fact for tall the reasons above my previous 2 marathons have been less than perfect (I will blog about these previous runs over the coming weeks).

So in April for the first 10 miles, I am looking at 10-minute mile pacing. Then from miles 11 to 20 I will drop down to 11-minute miles pacing, and for the last 6 miles, 12-minute miles pacing. This should bring me in at 4 hours 42 minutes- 2 minutes shy of my PB, but 46 minutes quicker than my last London time.

I think this pace is sensible and careful but will depend on me not being stupid. I know it is easy to run faster  and feel great (I have done it so many times before) and really believe I can keep it up. Then all it takes is a corner, or a bridge, or a bump in the road when my will and hunger goes and I are empty. By starting carefully I believe this will leave me with more when it matters- the last 3 miles.

Anyway, this is the plan. So because of this, I am happy running 9.5/10 miles (with some hill work for strength) in training, so on the day, I know I am capable of ticking the boxes.

What do you think? Am I being naive- or is this realistic?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑