In between yesterdays’ blog and today’s run I have started a new book. Search anywhere on the internet about Heart Rate training and before not very long someone will extol the virtuals of ‘Heart Monitor Training for the Compleat Idiot’ by John L. Parker Jr, so I have bought a copy and started to read it.

I am pleased to say that- more than likely coincidently- it talks about exactly what I was discussing yesterday. I am lucky enough to say I can almost ignore the top end of the training as I am not looking for speed- I am looking for strength and stamina. Using the sum in the book it says my maximum (using the Karvonen method) is 150- which is what I have my alarm set to. It also says that I should not be worried that sticking to it may mean walking- before long this should settle down and I should be able to run at this max.

So, how has it gone?

Mile 1

Good start. Legs feel good, heart rate soon up to…hold on a minute, where is the alarm? It is flashing at me, but I can’t see the flashing when I run. So I stop it at mile one and turn the alarm on. Moan a bit to myself.

https://www.strava.com/activities/765480947/embed/8d56c17fe9d9fc78ddcfad8199da60a36a2c78df

Mile 2

Right, back at it now. It seems that 150 bpm is about 11min 15 sec per mile pace. So I- hold on- it is still not giving me the alarm. Stop it at the end of mile 2, and turn the Alerts on. Moan a bit more to myself.

https://www.strava.com/activities/765488666/embed/234fb4255b99299431816f76a0205b8927cc2b06

Miles 3+4

It works! It nudges me when I am running too fast. I quickly learn this could be through elevation or just going too fast. The pace at about 148 bpm is gentle, and I feel fine. In fact, it allows me to concentrate on other things- my arms, my feet, my knees. I do find that this leads me to increase my heart several times, and I have to reign it back again. It is a slow pace, and I need to remember how to run like this. However, as a start, I am pleased with this!

https://www.strava.com/activities/765505454/embed/f26fc5b2e966acf9defedb3bcf7126ffe02b3160

I did not run with my earphones in today, so I could hear my alarm (shame- I missed my audiobook- but for the bigger cause etc). It is nice to have my Garmin 220 back in action again, although I did look a bit daft because I also had my Apple Watch on (I need to hit my rings!!!).

So my starting point with all of this is 150 bpm= approx 11m20s miles. This will come down with weight loss and training. In the end, I ran 4 miles and felt great at the end of it.